Skip to main content
Search

Our safety philosophy

ExxonMobil implements high safety standards. Our goal for safety is 'zero accidents'. Because of our sustained efforts through the years, we are very close to accomplishing this goal.

Lost-time accidents – accidents/incidents resulting in the forced absence from work of the ExxonMobil personnel or employees of subcontractors involved for more than 24 hours – rarely occur anymore. Wearing personal protective equipment and strictly following work procedures are compulsory.

Safety risks must be eliminated or effectively controlled. We all know that accidents can happen anywhere at any time. Making employees as aware as possible of the possible consequences of their own actions is therefore crucial. In order to increase the level of awareness, safety programmes have been set up that focus on the human aspects of work. Colleagues are also encouraged to stimulate each other to work safely. The safety record can be further improved by reporting and investigating all incidents, accidents and near misses, and learning from personal observation.

External safety

Our plants are full of energy and flammable substances. This is of course taken into account in their design. Plant safety is also assured by qualified operators and carrying out professional maintenance on time. In addition to implementing all possible precautions, ExxonMobil has worked out detailed plans for responding quickly and effectively in emergencies with the regional government.

Close

Aller au contenu principal
Rechercher

Notre philosophie en matière de sécurité

ExxonMobil a établi des normes sévères dans le domaine de la sécurité. La norme de sécurité a pour objectif : pas un seul accident. Par des efforts soutenus pendant des années, nous sommes parvenus très près de ce but.

Absentéisme pour cause d’accident – les incidents entraînant une absence de plus de 24 heures sont devenus très rares, tant au sein de notre propre personnel que de celui des contractants. L’utilisation de moyens de protection personnels est obligatoire, de même que le strict respect des procédures de travail.

En ce qui concerne les risques, ils doivent être soit éliminés soit maîtrisés. Un accident est vite arrivé. Il est donc primordial de sensibiliser autant que possible les collaborateurs aux possibles conséquences de leurs actes. Pour une plus grande sensibilisation, des programmes de sécurité ont été mis en place qui visent précisément l’aspect humain du travail. Les collègues sont en outre encouragés à promouvoir entre eux la sécurité au travail. Avec la signalisation et l’analyse des accidents évités de peu (near-misses) et les enseignements tirés des résultats de ces analyses, il est possible d’améliorer encore les scores en matière de sécurité.

Sécurité extérieure

Nos usines sont pleines de sources d’énergie et de substances inflammables. Il en a bien entendu été tenu compte lors de la conception des installations. Par ailleurs, des mécanismes sophistiqués et une maintenance professionnelle et ponctuelle garantissent la sécurité dans les usines. Malgré toutes les mesures de précaution, nous avons élaboré des plans en accord avec les autorités locales pour pouvoir intervenir rapidement et efficacement en cas d’urgence.

Fermer