Skip to main content
Search

Business ethics

The policy of Exxon Mobil Corporation is one of strict observance of all laws applicable to its business.

The Corporation's policy does not stop there. Even where the law is permissive, the Corporation chooses the course of the highest integrity. Local customs, traditions, and mores differ from place to place, and this must be recognized. But, honesty is not subject to criticism in any culture. Shades of dishonesty simply invite demoralizing and reprehensible judgments. A well-founded reputation for scrupulous dealing is itself a priceless company asset.

Employees are told that they must understand that the Corporation does care how results are obtained, not just that they are obtained. Employees are encouraged to tell higher management all that they are doing, to record all transactions accurately in their books and records, and to be honest and forthcoming with the Corporation's internal and external auditors. The Corporation expects employees to report suspected violations of law or ExxonMobil policies to company management.

The Corporation expects compliance with its standard of integrity throughout the organization and will not tolerate employees who achieve results at the cost of violation of laws or who deal unscrupulously. The Corporation supports, and expects you to support, any employee who passes up an opportunity or advantage that would sacrifice ethical standards.

Equally important, the Corporation expects candor from managers at all levels and compliance with ExxonMobil policies, accounting rules, and controls. One harm which results when managers conceal information from higher management or the

auditors is that subordinates within their organizations think they are being given a signal that company policies and rules can be ignored when they are inconvenient. This can result in corruption and demoralization of an organization. The Corporation's system of management will not work without honesty, including honest bookkeeping, honest budget proposals, and honest economic evaluation of projects.

It is ExxonMobil's policy that all transactions shall be accurately reflected in its books and records. This, of course, means that falsification of its books and records or the creation or maintenance of any off-the-record bank accounts is strictly prohibited."

Antitrust

It is the policy of Exxon Mobil Corporation that all of its directors, officers, and employees shall, in carrying out their duties to the Corporation, comply with the antitrust and competition laws of the United States and with those of any other country or group of countries which are applicable to the Corporation's business.

No director, officer, or employee should assume that the Corporation's interest ever requires otherwise. Moreover, no one in the Corporation has authority to give any order or direction that would result in a violation of this policy.

It is recognized that, on occasion, there may be legitimate doubt as to the proper interpretation of the law. In such a circumstance, it is required that the directors, officers, and employees refer the case through appropriate channels to the Law Department for advice.

Conflict of interest

Exxon Mobil Corporation's policy requires that directors, officers, and employees avoid any conflict between their own interests and the interests of the Corporation in dealing with suppliers, customers and other third parties, and in the conduct of their personal affairs, including transactions in securities of the Corporation, any affiliate, or any nonaffiliated organization.

It is also a conflict of interest for an employee, during or subsequent to employment and without proper authority, to give or make available to anyone, or use for his/her own benefit, information of a confidential nature derived from his/her employment.

Close

Aller au contenu principal
Rechercher

Ethique d'entreprise

La politique d'Exxon Mobil Corporation est de respecter toutes les lois qui sont d'application à sa gestion d'entreprise.

Mais nous ne nous arrêtons pas là. Même lorsque les lois sont moins sévères, nous optons malgré tout pour la plus haute intégrité. Les usages locaux, les traditions et les normes diffèrent par endroits et nous devons les respecter. Mais l'honnêteté n'est sujette à critique dans aucune culture. Même un semblant de malhonnêteté peut être démoralisant et susciter des jugements négatifs. Une réputation d'intégrité est impayable.

Nous expliquons à nos collaborateurs que l'entreprise n'est pas uniquement intéressée par les résultats, mais s'intéresse surtout à la manière dont ces résultats sont obtenus. Ils sont encouragés à communiquer aux cadres de l'entreprise tout ce qu'ils font, à mentionner avec précision toutes leurs transactions, à être honnêtes et à apporter leur aide aux auditeurs internes et externes. L'entreprise attend de ses collaborateurs qu'ils préviennent la direction de tout soupçon d'infraction à la loi ou à la politique d'entreprise.

Nous attendons que chacun respecte les normes d'intégrité de l'organisation et nous n'accepterons pas que des collaborateurs obtiennent leurs résultats en transgressant des lois ou en agissant de façon immorale. L'entreprise soutient les collaborateurs qui laissent passer des chances ou des avantages qui seraient contraires à nos normes éthiques.

Tout aussi important est le fait que les managers à tous les niveaux doivent être ouverts et doivent respecter la politique et les règles de justification administrative et de contrôle d'ExxonMobil. La situation se détériore vite lorsque des managers font de la rétention d'information ou que leurs collaborateurs administratifs et autres interprètent cette attitude comme un signal que les règles d'entreprise peuvent être ignorées ou négligées. Cela peut mener à la corruption et à la démoralisation de l'organisation. Le système de management de notre entreprise ne peut fonctionner qu'avec honnêteté, une comptabilité honnête, des propositions de budget honnêtes et une évaluation honnête des projets.

Chez ExxonMobil toutes les transactions sont scrupuleusement enregistrées dans l'administration et les dossiers. Cela signifie bien sûr que falsifier des dossiers ou ouvrir ou tenir une comptabilité en dehors des livres est strictement interdit.

Antitrust

La politique d'Exxon Mobil Corporation précise que dans l'exercice de leur fonction les directeurs, les dirigeants et les collaborateurs de l'entreprise respectent les règles qui sont d'application pour leurs activités dans tout pays ou groupe de pays concernés.

Aucun directeur, dirigeant, ou collaborateur ne peut supposer que l'intérêt de l'entreprise exige autre chose. En outre, personne dans l'entreprise n'a le pouvoir de donner un ordre ou une instruction qui conduirait à une infraction à cette politique.

Nous reconnaissons que l'interprétation exacte des règles qui sont d'application puisse parfois être délicate. Dans de telles circonstances, les directeurs, les dirigeants et les collaborateurs doivent soumettre la question au Département Juridique pour avis.

Conflit d'intérêts

La politique d'Exxon Mobil Corporation préconise que les directeurs, les dirigeants et les collaborateurs évitent les situations qui peuvent susciter un conflit entre leurs propres intérêts et ceux de l'entreprise lorsqu'ils traitent avec des fournisseurs, des clients et d'autres tiers ou lorsqu'ils règlent leurs affaires personnelles, telles que des transactions en actions d'Exxon Mobil Corporation ou d'une entreprise ayant ou non un lien avec Exxon Mobil Corporation.

Un conflit d'intérêt naît également lorsque, durant ou juste après son service et sans autorisation, un collaborateur transmet, met à disposition de tiers ou utilise à son propre avantage des informations confidentielles qu'il/elle a obtenues durant son service.

Fermer