Skip to main content
Search

Mobil: over a century

Until the creation of ExxonMobil in 1999, Mobil Oil operated as an independent oil company, including operations in the Benelux.

The roots of both this company and Exxon (Esso) are found in Rockefeller's Standard Oil Trust. Two of the many 'Baby Standard Oils' that were created in 1911 as a result of the anti-trust judgement by the American Supreme Court were called the Vacuum Oil Company and Standard Oil of New York (Socony). In 1931 these two companies merged to form Socony Vacuum. At that time, Vacuum Oil was already selling petrol under the brand name Mobilgas, while Socony was using Pegasus, the mythical flying horse, as a symbol of strength and flexibility.

The merger resulted in the marriage of word and symbol to form a logo that, despite some changes, has remained ever since. In 1955 the name of the company changed to Socony Mobil Oil, a hundred years after the creation of the Vacuum Oil Company, and in 1966 it was simplified to Mobil Oil.

In Europe

Mobil was already operating in Europe in the nineteenth century. It started with trading activities, importing oil products and setting up sales networks, but local production facilities were created over the years, such as refineries, lubricant plants and, from the sixties, petrochemical installations. After the oil crisis in the seventies and eighties, Mobil decided to substantially restructure its operations. The company closed or sold several production facilities, including the refinery in Amsterdam, to improve its profitability. The European network of Mobil petrol stations disappeared following a joint venture with BP to sell fuels and lubricants to companies, organizations and consumers.

Mobil's petroleum and natural gas extraction operations have always remained independent, including those in the Netherlands. In the years preceding the merger with Exxon, the company also invested in advanced chemical production facilities such as the polypropylene plants in Virton (Belgium) and Kerkrade (The Netherlands) and the ester plant in Amsterdam.

After the merger

One of the demands set by the competition regulatory authorities before they would approve the merger between Exxon and Mobil was the division of the joint venture between Mobil and BP. This resulted in Mobil retaining the lubrication business and BP holding onto all the remaining production and marketing activities that were involved in the joint venture. Since then, ExxonMobil has been responsible for the European production of Mobil lubricants and retail sales through different channels, e.g. via the Esso petrol stations network.

Close

Aller au contenu principal
Rechercher

Presqu'un siècle Mobil

Jusqu'à la création d'Exxon Mobil Corporation en 1999, Mobil Oil Corporation opérait comme une compagnie pétrolière indépendante, également au Benelux.

Les racines de cette entreprise se trouvent, tout comme celles d'Exxon Corporation (Esso), dans le Standard Oil Trust de Rockefeller. Deux des nombreux "Baby Standard Oils", qui sont nés du jugement anti-trust de la Cour Suprême américaine en 1911, étaient la Vacuum Oil Company et la Standard Oil of New York (Socony). En 1931, ces deux entreprises ont fusionné pour devenir la Socony Vacuum. Vacuum Oil vendait déjà à l'époque de l'essence sous le nom de marque Mobilgas, tandis que Socony utilisait Pégase, le cheval volant de la mythologie, comme symbole de puissance et de souplesse.

Avec la fusion, le mot et le symbole se sont unis dans un logo dont la forme est restée pratiquement inchangée jusqu'à ce jour. En 1955, le nom du groupe a été modifié en Socony Mobil Oil; cent ans après la création de la Vacuum Oil Company, en 1966, il était simplement Mobil Oil Corporation.

En Europe

Mobil était déjà actif en Europe au dix-neuvième siècle. L'entreprise a commencé par des activités commerciales, l'importation de produits pétroliers et l'organisation de réseaux de vente, mais au fil des ans, des moyens de production locaux ont été ajoutés, tels que des raffineries, des usines de lubrifiants et à partir des années soixante, des installations pétrochimiques. Après les crises du pétrole des années septante et quatre-vingts, Mobil a décidé de restructurer sérieusement ses activités. Afin d'améliorer la rentabilité, le groupe a fermé ou vendu un certain nombre d'unités de production telles que la raffinerie à Amsterdam. Le réseau européen de stations-service Mobil a disparu, après la conclusion d'un joint-venture avec BP pour la vente de carburants et de lubrifiants aux entreprises, aux institutions et aux consommateurs.

Mobil était et restait actif de façon indépendante pour l'extraction de pétrole brut et de gaz naturel, entre autres aux Pays-Bas. Durant les années qui ont précédé la fusion avec Exxon, l'entreprise a également investi dans des infrastructures de production chimique, tels que les usines de polypropylène à Virton (Belgique) et à Kerkrade (Pays-Bas) et une usine d'ester à Amsterdam.

Après la fusion

Une des exigences des autorités qui surveillent l'application des lois anti-concurrence stipulait qu'avant de donner leur accord à la fusion entre Exxon et Mobil, il y avait lieu de dissoudre le joint-venture entre Mobil et BP. Après la dissolution, Mobil a conservé le business des lubrifiants; BP a conservé toutes les autres activités de production et de marketing qui avaient été introduites dans le joint-venture. Depuis, ExxonMobil se charge en Europe de la production des lubrifiants Mobil et de leur vente aux consommateurs, entre autres via le réseau de stations Esso.

Fermer