Skip to main content
Search

We continue to invest

The oil-refining and chemical sector invests continually in improving efficiency, safety, product quality and environmental performance.

Strategic investments in our refineries and chemical plants have played a prominent role throughout ExxonMobil's more than 125 years of history in the Benelux. Constantly responding to new (economic and social) developments has enabled us to keep our business operations strong.

  • The Antwerp Refinery is currently building an new coker unit for converting heavy, high-sulphur residual oils into transport fuels such as diesel and marine gas oil.

    In 2009, the Antwerp Refinery started operating a high efficiency cogeneration facility, or Cogen. This was followed in 2011 by a hydrotreater, which removes sulphur from diesel using high-pressure hydrogen. The resulting lower SOx emissions – combined with increasingly cleaner car engines – have led to a (significant) improvement in air quality.
  • In Rotterdam, the refinery is being expanded with a hydrocracker unit to meet the rising market demand. The unit upgrades heavier by-products into cleaner, higher-value finished products, such as base oils for lubricants and ultra-low sulphur diesel.

Recent large-scale investments in the Rotterdam chemical plants included performance improvements in the oxo-alcohol plant in 2016, an innovative system for producing paraxylene in the aromatics plant in 2015 and the major capacity expansion of the aromatics plant in 2009.

Close

Aller au contenu principal
Rechercher

Nous continuons d’investir

L’industrie du raffinage et l’industrie chimique investissent sans cesse dans l’amélioration de l’efficacité, de la sécurité, de la qualité des produits et des performances environnementales.

Les investissements stratégiques effectués dans nos raffineries et usines chimiques sont le fil conducteur des plus de 125 années de présence d’ExxonMobil au Benelux. C’est en anticipant sans cesse sur l’évolution économique et sociale que notre entreprise conserve toute sa puissance.

La raffinerie d’Anvers est actuellement en train de construire une unité de cokéfaction. Cette nouvelle unité transforme des produits pétroliers lourds à forte teneur en soufre en carburants de transport comme le diesel et le gasoil pour la navigation.

En 2009, la raffinerie d’Anvers a mis en service une unité de cogénération ou Cogen extrêmement efficace, puis en 2011 une unité de désulfuration, qui désulfure le gazole avec de l’hydrogène, sous haute pression. Cela contribue à une réduction des émissions de soufre qui, combinée à des moteurs plus propres, débouche sur une amélioration (considérable) de la qualité de l’air.

À Rotterdam, la raffinerie s’est enrichie d’un hydrocraqueur, pour répondre à la demande croissante du marché. Cette unité transforme les produits plus lourds en produits finis plus propres et de meilleure qualité tels que les huiles de base pour lubrifiants et gazole à faible teneur en soufre.

Les usines chimiques de Rotterdam ont récemment réalisé de gros investissements dans l’amélioration des performances de l’unité d’oxoalcools en 2016, dans une unité novatrice pour la production de paraxylène dans l’usine de composés aromatiques en 2015 et dans la forte augmentation de capacité de l’usine de composés aromatiques en 2009.

Fermer