Skip to main content
Search

Air emissions reduction in Benelux

The production processes of the refineries and chemical factories are accompanied by the emission of a number of harmful substances.

The most important of these are sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOx) and hydrocarbons or volatile organic compounds (VOCs). Sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides contribute to the acidification of the atmosphere and soil, hydrocarbons and nitrogen oxides contribute to smog formation.

The SO2 and NOx emissions at ExxonMobil's plants are far below legal standards, because they only use gas for their heating needs. VOC emissions are low, thanks to the use of special seals or internal floating storage tank covers, vapor recovery when loading barges and trucks, and special measuring and maintenance programs to detect and repair leaks.

In order to improve the air quality in its member states, the European Union has drawn up a series of new environmental regulations. The desulfurization requirements are thus becoming increasingly stringent. As of 2009, diesel may not contain more than 10 ppm (parts per million) of sulfur. That's why ExxonMobil built a new [[LINK (/Benelux-Dutch/Newsroom/Publications/20070115_ReflexHTM_NL/heatingoilupgradingproject.htm):desulfurization plant]] in Rotterdam.

Close

Aller au contenu principal
Rechercher

Qualité de l’air

Les processus de production des raffineries et des usines chimiques s’accompagnent de l’émission de diverses substances toxiques.

Il s’agit principalement de dioxyde de soufre (SO2), d’oxydes d’azote (NOx) et d’hydrocarbures ou composés organiques volatils (COV). Le dioxyde de soufre et les oxydes d’azote contribuent à l’acidification de l’atmosphère et du sol, tandis que les hydrocarbures et les oxydes d’azote renforcent la formation du smog.

Les émissions de SO2 et de NOx des complexes industriels d’ExxonMobil se situent bien en dessous des normes légales, car seul du gaz est utilisé pour satisfaire les besoins de chauffage. Les émissions de COV sont faibles grâce à l’utilisation de joints spéciaux ou à l’installation d’un toit flottant à l’intérieur des réservoirs, à la récupération des vapeurs lors du chargement des péniches et des camions et à des programmes de mesure et de maintenance spéciaux visant à détecter et à réparer les fuites.

Afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’air dans les États membres, l’Union européenne a élaboré diverses nouvelles règles environnementales. Le taux de désulfuration est ainsi toujours plus strict. Depuis 2009, le diesel ne peut plus contenir que 10 ppm (parties par million) de soufre au maximum. C’est pour cette raison qu’ExxonMobil a construit une nouvelle [[LINK (/Benelux-Dutch/Newsroom/Publications/20070115_ReflexHTM_NL/heatingoilupgradingproject.htm):installation de désulfuration]] à Rotterdam.

Fermer