ExxonMobil today

Article

ExxonMobil today

To survive for more than a century, Esso and Mobil Oil have had to constantly adapt to an ever-changing world.

This process gained momentum at the end of the twentieth century. Economic developments in particular can be breathtaking for those who have lived in the 'good old days'.

Little by little, national borders are losing their economic significance, national markets are being integrated into the European and world markets, competition has become increasingly international and therefore fiercer, and world markets are taking the place of local markets. This is the context in which we must place the organizational developments that have taken place since the merger of Exxon Corporation with Mobil Corporation to form ExxonMobil.

In this context, the local subsidiaries that have contributed to Standard Oil's multinational approach since its foundation in the nineteenth century, now have another role to play. Reporting and lines of communication are becoming more complex. An increasing number of employees are working for business units that operate across borders, as do their markets.

A very interesting issue for ExxonMobil is the development of alternative energy sources. For the time being, certainly until well into this century, fossil fuels - the basis of our activities - will still play a major role. But pressure to search for alternative, sustainable sources will only increase.

The contours of the new millenium are becoming increasingly clear. We don't know what the future will bring, but we certainly won't be surprised if the new era is even more exciting and more diverse than the last. And ExxonMobil will be part of it.

Related content

Business ethics

The policy of Exxon Mobil Corporation is one of strict observance of all laws applicable to its business.

Who we are Article

Our history

Who we are Article

Transparency

Our efforts to promote revenue transparency have helped fight corruption, improve government accountability and promote greater economic stability around the world.

Who we are Article

About ExxonMobil's use of corporate entities in the Bahamas

We have affiliates incorporated around the world.

Who we are Article

Organisation en évolution

Article

Organisation en évolution

Au cours de leurs cent ans d'existence, Esso et Mobil ont dû constamment s'adapter à un monde en perpétuelle mutation.

A la fin du vingtième siècle, ce processus semble cependant entrer dans une phase d'accélération. Les évolutions économiques donnent le vertige à ceux qui ont connu le "bon vieux temps".

Les frontières nationales perdent progressivement leur sens économique; les marchés nationaux s'intègrent dans le marché européen et mondial; la concurrence devient internationale et prend de l'ampleur, les marchés mondiaux prennent la place des marchés locaux. C'est dans ce cadre que nous devons placer les développements actuels qui ont commencé depuis la fusion d'Exxon Corporation avec Mobil Corporation pour devenir ExxonMobil.

Les filiales locales, qui ont déterminé le caractère multinational du groupe depuis la fondation de Standard Oil au dix-neuvième siècle, jouent un autre rôle. Les lignes hiérarchiques et de communication deviennent plus complexes. De plus en plus d'employés travaillent pour des 'business units', qui tout comme les marchés dans lesquels ils travaillent, ne s'arrêtent pas aux frontières.

Une question extrêmement intéressante pour ExxonMobil est l'approvisionnement en énergie. Pour le moment, c'est-à-dire encore durant une partie importante de ce siècle, les combustibles fossiles qui sont à la base des activités du groupe, continueront à jouer le rôle principal, mais la pression pour l'utilisation de sources alternatives durables ne fera que s'accentuer.

Les contours du nouveau millénaire se précisent de plus en plus. Nous ne savons bien sûr pas de quoi aura l'air l'avenir, mais nous ne serions cependant pas surpris si l'époque qui nous attend est encore plus passionnante et plus variée que la précédente. Une chose est certaine: ExxonMobil sera présent.

Contenu associé

Ethique d'entreprise

La politique d'Exxon Mobil Corporation est de respecter toutes les lois qui sont d'application à sa gestion d'entreprise.

Qui sommes-nous Article

L’utilisation de personnes morales par ExxonMobil aux Bahamas

Nous avons des filiales dans le monde entier.

Qui sommes-nous Article

Transparence

Nos efforts de promotion de la transparence ont aidé à combattre la corruption, à améliorer la responsabilité des gouvernements et à promouvoir une meilleure stabilité économique dans le monde entier.

Qui sommes-nous Article