Cleaner power: reducing emissions with carbon capture and storage

For more than 30 years, ExxonMobil engineers and scientists have researched, developed and applied technologies that could play a role in the widespread deployment of carbon capture and storage.

Article

In this article

Cleaner power: reducing emissions with carbon capture and storage

Research opportunities with CCS

Achieving meaningful reductions in greenhouse gas emissions will require a wide range of solutions, and ExxonMobil believes that carbon capture and storage (CCS) has the potential to play an important role.

CCS is the process by which carbon dioxide from power-plant and other industrial activities that would otherwise be released into the atmosphere is captured, compressed and injected into underground geologic formations for safe, secure and permanent storage. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change estimates that fossil fuel power plants and large industrial facilities account for as much as 60 percent of global carbon emissions. Thus, the broad-based deployment of cost-effective carbon capture and storage would potentially make a massive impact on the world’s greenhouse gas levels.

The greatest opportunity for future large-scale deployment of CCS may be in the natural gas-fired power generation sector. While CCS technology can be applied to coal-fired power generation, the cost to capture CO2 is about twice that of natural gas power generation. In addition, because coal-fired power generation creates about twice as much CO2 per unit of electricity generated, the geological storage space required to store the CO2 produced from coal-fired generation is double that required for gas-fired generation.

In 2017, ExxonMobil captured 6.6 million metric tons of CO2 for storage – the equivalent of eliminating the annual greenhouse gas emissions of more than 1 million passenger vehicles.

ExxonMobil is leveraging this expertise to conduct proprietary, fundamental research to develop breakthrough carbon capture technologies with an aim to reduce complexity, lower the cost and ultimately encourage wide-spread global deployment of this crucial technology.

The carbon capture and storage process

Image

ExxonMobil is also developing sub-surface CO2 storage capability by leveraging decades of experience in the exploration, development and production of hydrocarbon resources. This expertise is key to permanently storing CO2 deep underground in a safe and secure fashion.

For example, we are collaborating with leading universities around the world to better characterize subsurface storage capacity and develop improved CO2 monitoring technologies and techniques.

Related content

Innovating energy solutions: Research and development highlights

R&D has been part of ExxonMobil’s DNA since our company began more than 135 years ago. Our innovations have helped provide the energy fundamental to modern life – from the clean, efficient fuels that power today’s transportation to the natural gas that provides light and heat to homes and businesses.

Today, our world faces a dual challenge: meeting growing demand for energy while also reducing environmental impacts, including the risks of climate change. ExxonMobil is committed to doing our part.

Research and innovation Article

Advanced carbonate fuel cell technology in carbon capture and storage

Advancing economic and sustainable technologies to capture carbon dioxide from large emitters, such as power plants, is an important part of ExxonMobil’s suite of research into lower-emissions solutions to mitigate the risk of climate change.

Carbon capture Article

Building better chemical regulations for a better future

ExxonMobil encourages greater public confidence in product safety by actively supporting the American Chemistry Council’s call for TSCA modernization, an initiative that increases public access to information on chemicals.

Chemical Article

Pouvoir de nettoyage : réduction des émissions grâce à la capture et au stockage du carbone

Depuis plus de 30 ans, les ingénieurs et scientifiques d’ExxonMobil ont étudié, développé et appliqué des technologies qui pourraient jouer un rôle dans le déploiement étendu de la capture et du stockage du carbone.

Article

DANS CET ARTICLE

Pouvoir de nettoyage : réduction des émissions grâce à la capture et au stockage du carbone

Opportunités de recherche avec CCS

L’obtention d’une réduction significative des émissions de gaz à effet de serre nécessitera une large gamme de solutions, et ExxonMobil estime que la capture et le stockage de carbone (CCS) peuvent jouer un rôle important.

Le CCS est le processus par lequel le dioxyde de carbone provenant des centrales électriques et d’autres activités industrielles qui serait autrement libéré dans l’atmosphère est capturé, compressé et injecté dans des formations géologiques souterraines pour un stockage sûr, sécurisé et permanent. Le Panel intergouvernemental sur les changements climatiques estime que les centrales électriques alimentées aux combustibles fossiles et les grandes installations industrielles représentent jusqu’à 60 % des émissions mondiales de carbone. Ainsi, un déploiement à large échelle d’une capture et d’un stockage du carbone économiques pourrait potentiellement avoir un impact massif sur les niveaux de gaz à effet de serre du monde.

La plus grande opportunité de déploiement à grande échelle du CCS est peut-être dans le secteur de la production d’électricité alimentée au gaz naturel. Même si la technologie CCS peut être appliquée à la génération d’électricité à base de charbon, le coût de capture du CO2 est environ deux fois plus élevé que celui de la production d’électricité à base de gaz naturel. En outre, du fait que la génération d’électricité alimentée au charbon crée environ deux fois plus de CO2 par unité d’électricité générée, l’espace de stockage géologique requis pour stocker le CO2 produit à partir de la génération alimentée au charbon est le double de ce qui est nécessaire pour la génération de gaz.

En 2017, ExxonMobil a capturé 6,6 millions de tonnes métriques de CO2 pour le stockage, l’équivalent de l’élimination des émissions annuelles de gaz à effet de serre de plus d’un million de véhicules particuliers.

ExxonMobil tire parti de cette expertise pour mener des recherches exclusives et fondamentales afin de développer des technologies de capture de carbone révolutionnaires dans le but de réduire la complexité, de diminuer les coûts et d’encourager au final un déploiement mondial généralisé de cette technologie cruciale.

Le processus de capture et stockage du carbone

Image

ExxonMobil développe également des capacités de stockage souterrain du CO2 en exploitant des décennies d’expérience dans l’exploration, le développement et la production de ressources hydrocarbures. Cette expertise est la clé du stockage permanent du CO2 dans le sous-sol profond, de façon sûre et sécurisée. Par exemple, nous collaborons avec des universités majeures du monde entier pour mieux caractériser la capacité de stockage souterrain et développer des technologies et des techniques de surveillance du CO2 améliorées.

Contenu associé

Technologie avancée de pile à combustible à carbonate dans la capture et le stockage du carbone

L’avancement de technologies économiques et durables pour capturer le dioxyde de carbone provenant de grands émetteurs, tels que les centrales électriques, est un élément important de la suite de recherches d’ExxonMobil dans le domaine des solutions à faible émission pour atténuer le risque de changement climatique.

Séquestration du carbone Article

Biocarburants de dernière génération et recherches sur les algues : objectif de disposer de la capacité technique pour produire 10 000 barils par jour d’ici 2025

ExxonMobil continue de financer et de mener des recherches sur les biocarburants avancés. Ce travail fait partie de nos nombreux investissements dans de nouvelles technologies avec un potentiel transformateur permettant d’augmenter les approvisionnements énergétiques, de réduire les émissions et d’améliorer l’efficacité opérationnelle.

Biocarburants avancés Article

Les plastiques avancés ouvrent la voie à la durabilité et à l’efficacité énergétique

Dans le monde entier, l’industrie automobile est confrontée à de nombreux défis, et notamment le souhait de produire des véhicules plus durables tout en améliorant l’efficacité énergétique, la sécurité, les performances des véhicules et le confort des conducteurs.

Produit chimique Article