Community engagement

Drive Against Malaria

ExxonMobil supports various organisations around the world that work on the front lines in the fight against malaria. In the Benelux, starting in 2007, we've supported the Anglo-Dutch foundation 'Drive Against Malaria', which focuses on providing aid to the poorest communities in remote areas of Africa.

The Anglo-Dutch foundation 'Drive Against Malaria' was founded by British-born David Robertson in 1998. Together with former Dutch television presenter Julia Samuël, he has been highly successful in combating malaria in the most remote areas of Africa, precisely where the disease is a serious risk to the life and health of vulnerable children in particular. Aid is often provided under extremely difficult conditions. Assisted by a small army of volunteers in the Netherlands, Belgium and on location in Africa, Drive Against Malaria organises the distribution of mosquito nets and malaria treatment, provides information to local communities and sets up treatment teams.

20 years of combating malaria

2020 marked the 20th anniversary of the ExxonMobil Malaria Initiative – a program that has contributed to meaningful advances in fighting the disease. What began as an effort to protect workers and local communities in Chad and Cameroon has evolved into a global initiative. Find out more on EnergyFactor

Engagement communautaire

Drive Against Malaria

ExxonMobil soutient des organisations internationales engagées dans la lutte contre le paludisme. Dans le Benelux, nous avons soutenu depuis 2007 la fondation anglo-néerlandaise Drive Against Malaria, qui vise les groupes les plus défavorisés de la population dans les zones reculées d’Afrique.

L’organisation anglo-néerlandaise Drive Against Malaria a été fondée en 1998 par le Britannique David Robertson. Avec l’ancienne présentatrice de télévision néerlandaise Julia Samuël, il s’engage au quotidien et avec succès dans la lutte contre le paludisme dans les zones les plus reculées d’Afrique. C’est en effet dans ces régions que le paludisme constitue la plus grave menace pour la vie et la santé, surtout des enfants en bas âge. L’aide médicale est apportée dans des conditions extrêmement difficiles. Soutenue par de nombreux bénévoles, tant aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique qu’au niveau local en Afrique, la fondation Drive Against Malaria assure la distribution de moustiquaires, le traitement du paludisme, l’information de la population locale et la mise en place d’équipes médicales sur place.


20 ans de lutte contre le paludisme

L’année 2020 a marqué le 20e anniversaire de l’ExxonMobil Malaria Initiative, un programme qui a contribué à des avancées significatives dans la lutte contre le paludisme. Ce qui était au départ une action visant à protéger nos salariés et les communautés locales au Tchad et au Cameroun est devenu une initiative mondiale. En savoir plus