Meerhout polymers plant

The Meerhout Polymers Plant is the largest LDPE manufacturer in Europe and it supplies products to numerous industries. The plant is organisationally twinned with the Zwijndrecht Polymers Plant, which produces special types of polyethylene in relatively small volumes

Article

Meerhout polymers plant

The plant receives its main raw material, ethylene gas, via a pipeline from the storage tank at the refinery complex.

The gas is converted into polyethylene in high-pressure tube reactors. During the production process, the pressure in the reactors can rise up to 3000 bar. The gas is then heated to 200 degrees Celsius. The end product is separated from the non-polymerised ethylene gas at atmospheric pressure. The molten polyethylene is subsequently cooled and exits the process as plastic pellets with a diameter of two millimetres.

The polymers plants' products are used to make, for example, (food) packaging and plastic carrier bags. Because polyethylene is manufactured in a closed system, the production process is fairly environmentally friendly.

Increasingly more sustainable

In collaboration with the European Technology Centre in Brussels (see page 20), the two polymers plants work constantly on improving their products to stay abreast of current trends. Packaging foils are becoming increasingly stronger, thinner and more sustainable. For the production of – some ultra-thin – foil less and less material is needed, which has led to reductions in transport operations and waste. High-quality plastic packaging plays an important role in extending the shelf-life of perishable food and preventing spoilage.

ExxonMobil Petroleum & Chemical BV

Meerhout Polymers Plant
Biezenhoed 2
2450 Meerhout
Belgium

Tel.: +32 (0)3/546.31.11

Registered office:

Polderdijkweg, 2030 Antwerp
VAT BE 0416.375.270
RPR Antwerp
BoA Antwerp EUR 685-6689016-61

Number of employees:

165

Products:

Polyethylene, LDPE and polyethylene co-polymers: Escorene™ Ultra EVA

Related content

Antwerp polymers plant

The polymers plants in Zwijndrecht and Meerhout are in fact complementary. In order to optimise the strengths of both plants, they have been organisationally twinned.

Belgium Article

Antwerp refinery

With ongoing large and small investments, ExxonMobil ensures that the installations on the refinery site remain modern and efficient, and that the refinery retains its competitiveness. Since 2008 alone, two billion dollars have been invested in the refinery – despite the economic downturn – to make it one of the most modern and energy-efficient of its kind.

Belgium Article

EMEA Headquarters Brussels

The office building in Brussels (Machelen) houses ExxonMobil's regional headquarters for Europe, Africa and the Middle East (EMEA) and the European Technology Centre for research and development.

Belgium Article

Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant

The Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant is one of the largest and most modern plants in Europe that produces liquid hydrocarbons. The plant has been completely integrated with the refinery as part of an initiative to maximise efficiency.

Belgium Article

Usine de polymères de Meerhout

L’usine de polymères de Meerhout, la plus grande unité de production de LDPE en Europe, livre à de nombreuses industries. Cette usine fait partie de la même organisation que celle de Zwijndrecht, qui produit des sortes de polyéthylènes spéciales en relativement petites quantités.

Article

Usine de polymères de Meerhout

L’usine de polymères reçoit ses matières premières, le gaz éthylène, par l’intermédiaire d’un gazoduc qui relie la citerne au complexe de la raffinerie.

Le gaz est transformé en polyéthylène dans les cuves de réaction à haute pression. La pression peut y atteindre 3000 bars. Le gaz est ensuite chauffé à 200 degrés. Le produit final est séparé sous pression atmosphérique du gaz éthylène non polymérisé. Le polyéthylène fondu est ensuite refroidi puis quitte le processus sous forme de granulés de plastique de 2 mm..

Les produits de l’usine de polymères sont utilisés entre autres pour les emballages (alimentaires) ou les sacs plastiques. Le polyéthylène étant fabriqué dans un système fermé, le processus de production est assez écologique.

Durabilité sans cesse accrue

En coopération avec le centre technologique européen d’ExxonMobil à Bruxelles (voir à la page 20), les deux usines de polymères travaillent constamment à l’amélioration de leurs produits. La tendance est à des films d’emballage toujours plus solides, plus fins et plus durables. Pour la production de films, parfois ultrafins, il faut toujours moins de matériaux, ce qui signifie moins de transports et moins de déchets. Les emballages plastiques de grande valeur contribuent dans une large mesure à prolonger les dates limites de conservation et à prévenir la détérioration des aliments.

ExxonMobil Petroleum & Chemical B.V.B.A.

Meerhout Polymers Plant
Biezenhoed 2
2450 Meerhout
Belgique
Tél. : +32 (0)3/546.31.11

Siège social :

Polderdijkweg, 2030 Anvers
TVA BE 0416.375.270
RPR Anvers
BoA Anvers EUR 685-6689016-61

Nombre d’employés:

165

Produits:

polyéthylène LPDE et copolymères de polyéthylène : EscoreneTM Ultra EVA

Contenu associé

Raffinerie d'Anvers

Grâce à des investissements constants, ExxonMobil veille à ce que les installations restent modernes et rentables et à ce que la raffinerie conserve toute sa compétitivité. Depuis 2008, en dépit de la crise, les investissements dans la raffinerie ont porté sur deux milliards de dollars, ces installations se rangeant ainsi parmi les plus modernes et les plus économes en énergie dans leur catégorie.

Belgique Article

Usine de polymères d’Anvers

Les usines de polymères de Zwijndrecht et Meerhout sont en fait complémentaires. Pour exploiter les forces des deux usines de façon optimale, nous avons fusionné leurs organisations.

Belgique Article

Usine de solvants d’Anvers

L’Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant est une des plus grandes et plus modernes usines d’Europe pour la production d’hydrocarbures liquides. C’est dans un souci de rentabilité énergétique maximale que l’usine de produits chimiques a été intégrée à la raffinerie.

Belgique Article

Siège pour la région EMEA

L’immeuble administratif de Bruxelles (Machelen) abrite le siège régional pour l’Europe, l’Afrique et le Moyen-Orient (EMEA) et le centre technologique européen pour la recherche et le développement.

Belgique Article