Antwerp polymers plant

The polymers plants in Zwijndrecht and Meerhout are in fact complementary. In order to optimise the strengths of both plants, they have been organisationally twinned.

Article

Antwerp polymers plant

The plant in Zwijndrecht produces low density polyethylene (LDPE). Ethylene gas is converted into polymers in high-pressure reaction vessels. During the polymerisation reaction, ethylene gas molecules bind together to form long chains; as a result, the gas is converted into a solid, plastic.

The plant is a highly flexible production unit and supplies more than a hundred different products to numerous industries that use them to make, for example, laminated paper and cardboard, foil wrapping, food packaging and plastic carrier bags. Polymers from the plant are also processed in, among other things, plastic sheeting used in agriculture, adhesives and golf balls.

Solar panels

The plant also makes the base material for the hi-tech EVA foil used in solar panels. This foil is used between the outer glass pane and cell level. The foil insulates and protects the cells from moisture and other weather influences, increasing their lifespan to ten or as much as thirty years.

Increasingly more sustainable

In collaboration with the European Technology Centre in Brussels, the two polymers plants work constantly on improving their products to stay abreast of current trends. Packaging foils are becoming increasingly stronger, thinner and more sustainable. For the production of – some ultra-thin – foil less and less material is needed, which has led to reductions in transport operations and waste. High-quality plastic packaging plays an important role in extending the shelf-life of perishable food and preventing spoilage.

ExxonMobil Petroleum & Chemical BV

Antwerp Polymers Plant
Canadastraat 20
2070 Zwijndrecht
Haven 1007
Belgium

Tel.: +32 (0)3/670.31.11

Registered office:
Polderdijkweg, 2030 Antwerp
VAT BE 0416.375.270
RPR Antwerp
BoA Antwerp EUR 685-6689016-61

Number of employees: 

300

Products:

Polyethylene, LDPE and polyethylene co-polymers
EscoreneTM, EscorenceTM Ultra EVA, Polybilt
Escor EAA

Related content

Antwerp refinery

With ongoing large and small investments, ExxonMobil ensures that the installations on the refinery site remain modern and efficient, and that the refinery retains its competitiveness. Since 2008 alone, two billion dollars have been invested in the refinery – despite the economic downturn – to make it one of the most modern and energy-efficient of its kind.

Belgium Article

EMEA Headquarters Brussels

The office building in Brussels (Machelen) houses ExxonMobil's regional headquarters for Europe, Africa and the Middle East (EMEA) and the European Technology Centre for research and development.

Belgium Article

Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant

The Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant is one of the largest and most modern plants in Europe that produces liquid hydrocarbons. The plant has been completely integrated with the refinery as part of an initiative to maximise efficiency.

Belgium Article

Meerhout polymers plant

The Meerhout Polymers Plant is the largest LDPE manufacturer in Europe and it supplies products to numerous industries. The plant is organisationally twinned with the Zwijndrecht Polymers Plant, which produces special types of polyethylene in relatively small volumes

Belgium Article

Usine de polymères d’Anvers

Les usines de polymères de Zwijndrecht et Meerhout sont en fait complémentaires. Pour exploiter les forces des deux usines de façon optimale, nous avons fusionné leurs organisations.

Article

Usine de polymères d’Anvers

L’usine de polymères de Zwijndrecht produit du polyéthylène à faible densité (LDPE). Le gaz éthylène est transformé en polymères dans des cuves de réaction à haute pression. Durant la polymérisation, les molécules de gaz éthylène forment de longues chaînes, transformant le gaz en matière solide, en plastique.

Cette unité de production est très souple, capable de fournir plus de cent produits différents. L’usine livre ses produits à de nombreuses industries, qui les utilisent par exemple comme films d’étanchéité sur papier, carton, feuille d’aluminium, pour les emballages alimentaires ou les sacs plastiques. Les polymères sont également utilisés dans les plastiques agricoles, les adhésifs et les balles de golf.

Panneaux solaires

L’usine de polymères produit en outre la matière première utilisée dans la fabrication d’un film haute technologie pour panneaux solaires. Ce film EVA se trouve entre les plaques extérieures des panneaux et les cellules solaires. Le film isole et protège les cellules contre l’humidité et les autres conditions ambiantes afin qu’elles durent plus longtemps : pas moins de dix ans, voire jusqu’à trente ans.

Durabilité sans cesse accrue

Les deux usines de polymères coopèrent sans cesse avec le centre technologique européen de Bruxelles en vue de l’amélioration de leurs produits. La tendance est à des films d’emballage toujours plus solides, plus fins et plus durables. Pour la production de films, parfois ultrafins, il faut toujours moins de matériaux, ce qui signifie moins de transports et moins de déchets. Les emballages plastiques de grande valeur contribuent dans une large mesure à prolonger les dates limites de conservation et à prévenir la détérioration des aliments.

ExxonMobil Petroleum & Chemical B.V.B.A.

Antwerp Polymers Plant
Canadastraat 20
2070 Zwijndrecht
Haven 1007
Belgique
Tél. : +32 (0)3/670.31.11

Siège social :

Polderdijkweg, 2030 Anvers
TVA BE 0416.375.270
RPR Anvers
BoA Anvers EUR 685-6689016-61

Nombre d’employés :

300

Produits :

Polyéthylène LDPE et copolymères de polyéthylène
EscoreneTM, EscorenceTM Ultra EVA, Polybilt
Escor EAA

Contenu associé

Usine de polymères de Meerhout

L’usine de polymères de Meerhout, la plus grande unité de production de LDPE en Europe, livre à de nombreuses industries. Cette usine fait partie de la même organisation que celle de Zwijndrecht, qui produit des sortes de polyéthylènes spéciales en relativement petites quantités.

Belgique Article

Raffinerie d'Anvers

Grâce à des investissements constants, ExxonMobil veille à ce que les installations restent modernes et rentables et à ce que la raffinerie conserve toute sa compétitivité. Depuis 2008, en dépit de la crise, les investissements dans la raffinerie ont porté sur deux milliards de dollars, ces installations se rangeant ainsi parmi les plus modernes et les plus économes en énergie dans leur catégorie.

Belgique Article

Usine de solvants d’Anvers

L’Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant est une des plus grandes et plus modernes usines d’Europe pour la production d’hydrocarbures liquides. C’est dans un souci de rentabilité énergétique maximale que l’usine de produits chimiques a été intégrée à la raffinerie.

Belgique Article

Siège pour la région EMEA

L’immeuble administratif de Bruxelles (Machelen) abrite le siège régional pour l’Europe, l’Afrique et le Moyen-Orient (EMEA) et le centre technologique européen pour la recherche et le développement.

Belgique Article