Antwerp refinery

With ongoing large and small investments, ExxonMobil ensures that the installations on the refinery site remain modern and efficient, and that the refinery retains its competitiveness. Since 2008 alone, two billion dollars have been invested in the refinery – despite the economic downturn – to make it one of the most modern and energy-efficient of its kind.

Article

Antwerp refinery

The refinery processes different grades of crude oil varying from light low-sulphur to heavy high-sulphur oil. The crude oil is supplied via the Rotterdam-Antwerp Pipeline, which is co-owned by ExxonMobil. After arrival, the crude oil is stored in the tank farm in the refinery complex before being processed into a range of products, such as LPG, petrol, naphtha, kerosene, diesel, domestic heating oil, fuel oil and raw materials for the chemical industry. The refinery is integrated with the Performance Intermediates Plant, which produces chemical solvents.

Energy efficient

The refinery's relative energy consumption ranks among the lowest in the oil industry. Since 2009, the refinery has operated a high-efficiency cogeneration unit. With a total power output capacity of 130 Megawatts, the unit produces more electricity than the total requirement of the refinery and ExxonMobil's two polymer production plants. The Cogen not only produces electricity and steam, but also heats approximately 50 per cent of the mineral oil from which the refinery products are made. The smart use of generated heat ensures high energy efficiency and therefore results in a substantial reduction in CO2 emissions.

Cleaner fuels

Putting the new hydrotreater unit into operation in 2011, enabled the refinery to increase its production capacity for low-sulphur diesel to a level comparable with the annual consumption of two million diesel-powered cars. The unit uses hydrogen at high pressure to remove sulphur from diesel. As a result, the diesel is relatively clean and the emissions are lower. The hydrotreater is also used to produce more low-sulphur domestic heating oil. The construction of the Delayed Coker Unit, involving a capital investment of one billion euros, started in 2014. The unit will be used to convert heavy, high-sulphur residual oils into transport fuels such as diesel and marine gas oil.

ExxonMobil Petroleum & Chemical BV

Antwerp Refinery
Polderdijkweg,
2030 Antwerp
Haven 447
Belgium
Tel.: +32 (0) 3 790 3111

Registered office:

Polderdijkweg, 2030 Antwerp
VAT BE 0416.375.270
RPR Antwerp
BoA Antwerp EUR 685-6691011-19

Number of employees:

800

Products: 

LPG, petrol, naphtha, kerosene, diesel, domestic heating oil, fuel oil, sulphur
Various raw materials for the chemical industry

Related content

Antwerp polymers plant

The polymers plants in Zwijndrecht and Meerhout are in fact complementary. In order to optimise the strengths of both plants, they have been organisationally twinned.

Belgium Article

EMEA Headquarters Brussels

The office building in Brussels (Machelen) houses ExxonMobil's regional headquarters for Europe, Africa and the Middle East (EMEA) and the European Technology Centre for research and development.

Belgium Article

Meerhout polymers plant

The Meerhout Polymers Plant is the largest LDPE manufacturer in Europe and it supplies products to numerous industries. The plant is organisationally twinned with the Zwijndrecht Polymers Plant, which produces special types of polyethylene in relatively small volumes

Belgium Article

Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant

The Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant is one of the largest and most modern plants in Europe that produces liquid hydrocarbons. The plant has been completely integrated with the refinery as part of an initiative to maximise efficiency.

Belgium Article

Raffinerie d'Anvers

Grâce à des investissements constants, ExxonMobil veille à ce que les installations restent modernes et rentables et à ce que la raffinerie conserve toute sa compétitivité. Depuis 2008, en dépit de la crise, les investissements dans la raffinerie ont porté sur deux milliards de dollars, ces installations se rangeant ainsi parmi les plus modernes et les plus économes en énergie dans leur catégorie.

Article

Raffinerie d'Anvers

La raffinerie traite différentes sortes de pétrole brut, du pétrole léger à faible teneur en soufre au pétrole lourd à forte teneur en soufre. Le pétrole brut est acheminé par l’oléoduc Rotterdam-Anvers, dont ExxonMobil est également actionnaire. À son arrivée, le pétrole brut est stocké dans le parc de citernes du complexe de la raffinerie, après quoi il est transformé en une série de produits, tels que GPL, essence, naphte, kérosène, diesel, fioul domestique, fioul léger et lourd et matières premières pour l’industrie chimique. La raffinerie est intégrée dans l’usine de solvants, qui produit des solvants chimiques.

Efficacité énergétique

La consommation d’énergie relative de la raffinerie est une des plus faibles du secteur. La raffinerie dispose depuis 2009 d’une centrale thermique hautement efficace ou unité de cogénération. Avec une capacité de 130 mégawatts, l’unité de cogénération produit plus d’électricité que la raffinerie et les deux usines de polymères d’ExxonMobil n’en consomment ensemble. L’unité de cogénération ne produit pas seulement de l’électricité et de la vapeur, mais chauffe en outre environ la moitié du pétrole à partir duquel sont fabriqués les produits du raffinage. Cette utilisation ingénieuse de la chaleur produite permet un rendement énergétique élevé et donc une importante réduction des émissions de CO2.

Carburants plus propres

Avec la mise en service d’une nouvelle installation de désulfuration, la raffinerie a porté, en 2011, sa capacité en gasoil à faible teneur en soufre à un niveau comparable à la consommation annuelle de 2 millions de véhicules diesel. Cet appareil d’hydrogénation haute pression désulfure le gasoil sous haute pression avec de l’hydrogène. Ainsi, le gazole est relativement propre et les émissions sont plus faibles. L’hydrotraitement permet aussi de produire davantage de fioul domestique à faible teneur en soufre. C’est en 2014 que commença la construction de nouvelles installations, un investissement d’un milliard d’euros : la Delayed Coker Unit, qui transforme des produits pétroliers lourds à forte teneur en soufre en carburants de transport comme le diesel et le gasoil pour la navigation.

ExxonMobil Petroleum & Chemical B.V.B.A.

Raffinerie d’Anvers
Polderdijkweg,
2030 Anvers
Haven 447
Belgique
+32 (0) 3 790 3111

Siège social :

Polderdijkweg, 2030 Anvers
TVA BE 0416.375.270
RPR Anvers
BoA Anvers EUR 685-6691011-19

Nombre d’employés :

800

Produits :

GPL, essence, naphte, kérosène, gasoil, fioul domestique, fioul lourd, soufre, diverses matières premières pour l’industrie chimique

Contenu associé

Usine de polymères de Meerhout

L’usine de polymères de Meerhout, la plus grande unité de production de LDPE en Europe, livre à de nombreuses industries. Cette usine fait partie de la même organisation que celle de Zwijndrecht, qui produit des sortes de polyéthylènes spéciales en relativement petites quantités.

Belgique Article

Usine de polymères d’Anvers

Les usines de polymères de Zwijndrecht et Meerhout sont en fait complémentaires. Pour exploiter les forces des deux usines de façon optimale, nous avons fusionné leurs organisations.

Belgique Article

Usine de solvants d’Anvers

L’Antwerp Performance Intermediates Plant est une des plus grandes et plus modernes usines d’Europe pour la production d’hydrocarbures liquides. C’est dans un souci de rentabilité énergétique maximale que l’usine de produits chimiques a été intégrée à la raffinerie.

Belgique Article

Siège pour la région EMEA

L’immeuble administratif de Bruxelles (Machelen) abrite le siège régional pour l’Europe, l’Afrique et le Moyen-Orient (EMEA) et le centre technologique européen pour la recherche et le développement.

Belgique Article