Waste management overview

ExxonMobil devotes a great deal of attention and expertise to controlling waste, ground contamination and nuisance.

Article

Waste management overview

For many years, the waste water from the refineries and chemical plants has been thoroughly cleaned in special installations. These are comprised of multiple units, including oil separators, equalizer basins, flocculation and flotation units, a biological stage and resettling ponds. But even more important are the considerable efforts to minimize water contamination at its source, including the reuse of the wastewater flow as process water. This avoids putting any unnecessary burden on the water treatment plants.

Solid waste is also a major focus of attention. The primary goal is to minimize its production, followed by maximizing the separation and, if possible, reuse of the waste flows.

ExxonMobil Chemical employs a double strategy with respect to ground contamination. On the one hand, ground contamination projects are used to tackle past ground contamination and, on the other hand, major efforts are being made to prevent any new contamination.

ExxonMobil dares to state that under normal conditions its plants do not cause any noise or odor nuisance. The design and procedures focus on preventing incidents, and therefore complaints. Environmental management by company employees and contractors is high on the list of priorities. Within this framework, employees are encouraged to systematically report near misses - as they are in the safety policy - to enable lessons to be learnt from past mistakes. Consequently, there are relatively few incidents.

If you want to know more about ExxonMobil's environmental policy, click here for the pdf version of the public annual environmental report for the refinery and chemical plants in the Rotterdam harbor area."

Related content

Air emissions reductions

The production processes of the refineries and chemical factories are accompanied by the emission of a number of harmful substances.

Environment Article

ExxonMobil's role in addressing the water challenge

We recognize the importance of water and our responsibility to local communities and the environment. As such, we focus our efforts on preventing adverse impacts to water resources and prudently managing the water we do use.

Water Article

Freshwater management in Benelux

The wastewater from the refineries and chemical plants has been thoroughly treated in treatment plants since the 1980s.

Water Article

Understanding the relationship between energy and water

Globally, agriculture is the largest user of fresh water, accounting for 70 percent of all withdrawals. Although the oil and gas industry uses far less water (industrial use represents less than 5 percent of total withdrawal), it has an important role to play in protecting the quality of water in the areas where it operates.

Water Article

ExxonMobil's four decades of climate science research

ExxonMobil has supported development of climate science in partnership with governments and academic institutions for nearly 40 years. 

Climate Article

Statements on Paris climate agreement

ExxonMobil welcomed the Paris Agreement when it was announced in December 2015, and again when it came into force in November 2016.

Climate Article

Déchets, sol et nuisances

ExxonMobil consacre beaucoup d'attention et de know-how à la lutte contre les déchets, la pollution du sol et les nuisances.

Article

Déchets, sol et nuisances

Les déchets solides bénéficient également de toute notre attention. En premier lieu, nous tentons d'en limiter au maximum la production et ensuite, les déchets sont autant que possible séparés et réutilisés.

Em matière de pollution du sol, ExxonMobil Chemical applique une double stratégie: d'une part, la pollution du sol est attaquée par des projets d'assainissement et d'autre part, on met en place des mesures pour éviter de nouvelles pollutions.

ExxonMobil déclare que dans des circonstances normales, ses usines ne produisent ni nuisances sonores ni odeurs. La conception des installations et les procédures visent justement à éviter les incidents et donc les plaintes. La protection de l'environnement se trouve en haut de la liste des priorités. Dans ce cadre, le personnel et les contractants sont encouragés, tout comme pour notre politique de sécurité, à rapporter systématiquement les "near-misses" ("presqu'accidents"), afin de tirer des leçons des erreurs du passé. Il y a donc relativement peu d'incidents.

Désirez-vous savoir plus sur la politique environnementale d'ExxonMobil? Cliquez ici pour une version en pdf du rapport environnemental annuel de la raffinerie et des usines chimiques dans la zone portuaire de Rotterdam.

Contenu associé

Qualité de l’air

Les processus de production des raffineries et des usines chimiques s’accompagnent de l’émission de diverses substances toxiques.

Environnement Article

Le rôle d’ExxonMobil dans la résolution du problème de l’eau

Nous reconnaissons l’importance de l’eau et notre responsabilité envers les communautés locales et l’environnement.  En tant que tel, nous concentrons nos efforts sur la prévention des impacts négatifs sur les ressources en eau et la gestion prudente de l’eau que nous utilisons. 

Eau Article

Quatre décennies de recherche en sciences du climat ExxonMobil

ExxonMobil soutient le développement des sciences du climat en partenariat avec des gouvernements et des institutions universitaires depuis près de 40 ans.

Changement climatique Article

Déclarations sur l’accord de Paris sur le climat

ExxonMobil a salué l’Accord de Paris lorsqu’il a été annoncé en décembre 2015, et à nouveau lorsqu’il est entré en vigueur en novembre 2016.

Changement climatique Article

L’eau

Depuis les années 1980, les eaux usées des raffineries et des usines chimiques sont épurées avec soin dans des stations d’épuration.

Eau Article

Comprendre la relation entre l’énergie et l’eau

À l’échelle mondiale, l’agriculture constitue le plus grand utilisateur d’eau douce, représentant 70 pour cent de tous les prélèvements. Bien que l’industrie pétrolière et gazière utilise beaucoup moins d’eau (l’usage industriel représente moins de 5 % du retrait total), elle joue un rôle important pour protéger la qualité de l’eau dans les zones où elle opère.

Eau Article