Rotterdam Aromatics Plant

The Rotterdam Aromatics Plant is one of the largest aromatics production facilities in the world. The plant was built in 1963 next door to the refinery, from which it receives its basic raw materials. The plant is one of the few facilities in the world that can produce the entire range of aromatic hydrocarbons.

Article

Rotterdam Aromatics Plant

It produces pure aromatics, such as benzene, orthoxylene, paraxylene and cyclohexane. The aromatics made at the plant find their way into countless products we use every day, for example, packaging and insulation material - such as PET bottles and polystyrene foam - plastic used in electric (kitchen) appliances, car parts and sports shoes, and synthetic fibres and resins.

Capacity expansion

The paraxylene production capacity has expanded ten-fold over the years. The most recent expansion in 2009 - involving an investment of tens of millions of euros - increased the production capacity for paraxylene and benzene by 20 per cent and made the aromatics plant one of the largest paraxylene producers in the world. The expansion also led to a decrease in energy consumption per tonne product by 15 per cent.

Greater efficiency through integration

The aromatics plant is almost completely integrated with the neighbouring refinery, from which it receives its basic raw material. The by-products from the aromatic plant's production process are in turn sent back to the refinery for further processing. Besides the more flexible supply of raw materials, integrating the plant and the refinery has led to significant energy savings and cost reductions.

ExxonMobil Chemical Holland B.V.
Rotterdam Aromatics Plant
Botlekweg 121
3197 KA Rotterdam-Botlek
Havennummer 4060
The Netherlands

Tel.: + 31 (0)10 - 493 59 11

VAT number: NL.0048.23.187.B01
Company reg. no.: 24231768
Registered office: Rotterdam

Number of employees: 

140

Products:

Aromatics: benzene, paraxylene, orthoxylene
Cyclohexane

Related content

Pernis Lube Oil Blending Plant

The Pernis Lubricant Plant - or Lube Oil Blending Plant - produces various types of engine oil for cars and lubricants for industrial applications.

Netherlands Article

Rotterdam refinery

The Rotterdam refinery is one of the most modern and environmentally friendly of its kind. Since being put into operation in 1960, the plant has undergone several renovations. The sizeable capital investments through the years have made the refinery ultra-efficient.

Netherlands Article

Benelux Head Office

The Benelux head office is situated in Breda and houses service and staff departments of the Benelux organization.

Netherlands Article

Rotterdam Oxo-alcohols Plant

Officially called the Rotterdam Plasticizers & Intermediates Plant, the Rotterdam Oxo-alcohols Plant actually comprises three production facilities: the Rotterdam Oxo-Alcohol Plant in Europoort, the Phthalic Anhydride Plant and the Rotterdam Plasticizer Plant, which are both located in Rotterdam Botlek. It is the largest producer of plasticizers in Europe.

Netherlands Article

Usine de composés aromatiques de Rotterdam

L’usine de composés aromatiques de Rotterdam compte parmi les plus grandes du monde. L’usine a été construite en 1963 à côté de la raffinerie qui lui fournit les matières premières de base. L’usine de composés aromatiques est l’une des rares à produire la gamme complète d’hydrocarbures aromatiques.

Article

Usine de composés aromatiques de Rotterdam

L’usine de composés aromatiques produit des aromates purs tels que benzène, orthoxylène, paraxylène et cyclohexane. Nous retrouvons ces produits dans toutes sortes d’objets courants. Par exemple dans le matériel d’emballage et d’isolation tel que les bouteilles PET et le polystyrène, dans des appareils électriques (de cuisine), éléments de voitures, chaussures de sport et fibres et résines synthétiques.

Augmentation de la capacité

La capacité de production du paraxylène a été multipliée par quatorze au fil des ans. Avec la plus récente augmentation de capacité, survenue en 2009 et représentant un investissement de dizaines de millions d’euros, la capacité de production du benzène et de paraxylène a augmenté de 20 pour cent. L’usine de composés aromatiques est ainsi devenue une des plus grandes unités de production de paraxylène du monde. En parallèle, la consommation d’énergie a chuté de 15 pour cent.

L’efficacité par l’intégration

La raffinerie est presque totalement intégrée à la raffinerie voisine, dont elle reçoit ses matières premières de base. Les produits annexes générés durant le processus de production de l’usine de composés aromatiques retournent à la raffinerie. Outre un arrivage plus souple de matières premières, l’intégration permet de considérables économies d’énergie et de coûts.

ExxonMobil Chemical Holland B.V.
Rotterdam Aromatics Plant
Botlekweg 121
3197 KA Rotterdam-Botlek
Havennummer 4060
Pays-Bas

Tél. : + 31 (0)10 - 493 59 11

Numéro de TVA : NL.0048.23.187.B01
Numéro d’inscription au registre du commerce : 24231768
Siège statutaire : Rotterdam

Nombre de collaborateurs : 

140

Produits :

Aromates : benzène, paraxylène, orthoxylène, Cyclohexane

Contenu associé

Usine d’oxoalcools de Rotterdam

La Rotterdam Plasticizers & Intermediates Plant, nom officiel de l’usine d’oxoalcools, se compose en fait de trois unités : la Rotterdam Oxo-Alcohol Plant dans l’Europoort, la Phthalic Anhydride Plant et la Rotterdam Plasticizer Plant, toutes deux implantées à Rotterdam-Botlek. Il s’agit du plus gros producteur de plastifiants d’Europe.

Pays-Bas Article

Le siège de l’organisation Benelux à Breda

Le siège de l’organisation Benelux, avec des services de personnel, se trouve à Breda.

Pays-Bas Article

Rotterdam refinery

La raffinerie de Rotterdam est l’une des plus modernes et des plus écologiques de sa catégorie. Depuis sa mise en service en 1960, l’usine est régulièrement rénovée. Grâce à de nombreux investissements, la raffinerie reste extrêmement rentable.

Pays-Bas Article

Usine de lubrifiants de Pernis

L’usine de lubrifiants (Lube Oil Blending Plant) de Pernis produit diverses sortes d’huiles de moteur pour les voitures et de lubrifiants pour les applications industrielles.

Pays-Bas Article